Minutes of the meeting of the **LICENSING COMMITTEE** held at the Council Offices, Whitfield on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 at 5.00 pm.

Present:

Chairman: Councillor P S Le Chevalier

Councillors: P M Beresford

B W Butcher S R Nicholas M J Ovenden M A Russell A R Smith J M Smith R J Thompson

Officers: Team Leader – Democratic Support

Democratic Support Officer

358 <u>ELECTION OF A CHAIRMAN</u>

It was moved by Councillor M J Ovenden, duly seconded and

RESOLVED: That Councillor P S Le Chevalier be elected Chairman of the

Committee for the ensuing Council year.

359 <u>APPOINTMENT OF A VICE-CHAIRMAN</u>

It was moved by Councillor A R Smith, duly seconded and

RESOLVED: That Councillor R J Thompson be appointed Vice-Chairman of the

Committee for the ensuing Council year.

360 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors B Gardner, S M Le Chevalier and A S Pollitt.

361 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made by Members.

362 MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting of the Committee held on 27 November 2013 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

363 <u>MINUTES OF SUB-COMMITTEE MEETINGS</u>

The Minutes of the meetings of the Licensing Sub-Committees held on 13 August 2013, 23 September 2013, 7 November 2013, 21 November 2013, 27 November 2013, 11 December 2013 and 6 May 2014 were received and noted.

364 <u>LICENSING ACT 2003 AND GAMBLING ACT 2005 - APPOINTMENT OF LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES AND CHAIRMEN OF SUB-COMMITTEES</u>

The Committee considered the report of the Director of Governance which suggested the composition of the five Licensing Sub-Committees. It took into account previous practice, the need to avoid conflicts of interest for Ward Members and for newly appointed Members to gain experience.

RESOLVED: That the five Licensing Committees and their Chairmen for the ensuing Council year be as follows:

- (a) Councillors B W Butcher (Chairman), S C Manion and M A Russell
- (b) Councillors P M Beresford (Chairman), S R Nicholas and J M Smith
- (c) Councillors A R Smith (Chairman), M J Ovenden and J F Tranter
- (d) Councillors P S Le Chevalier (Chairman), B Gardner and C J Smith
- (e) Councillors S M Le Chevalier (Chairman), A S Pollitt and R J Thompson

The meeting ended at 5.04 pm.